How to Make Your Facebook a Safe Space for You Again

Leah Kayes Life Leave a Comment

Catie and I came together to create Columbus Birth & Parenting out of a deep rooted passion we share to support women, children and families in our community.

We focus on providing a safe space to women as they make the sacred transition into motherhood. We facilitate an environment that is completely free of judgements and “shoulds,” and we play a different role than a mother, friend, OB/GYN or midwife.

The type of support we provide can be useful during any transition in someone’s life.  Imagine gentle guidance, support and a knowledgeable wing-woman by your side when you were a freshman starting college, a professional starting a career or an individual becoming a partner in a marriage.

We help you navigate the unknown, the scary, the overwhelming… all without judgement.

Post election, we find ourselves in a political transition most of us have never experienced before.  While some voted for a candidate they were passionate about, others voted against a candidate they hated.

Our country, states, cities, towns and families are divided. 

With the unknown lurking in front of us, we recommend you create your own safe space for yourself during this transition. Be mindful of what you need in this moment.

One thing we DO NOT NEED MORE OF is negativity.

Facebook has been a notoriously challenging battleground this election season but this doesn’t have to be the scene on your Facebook newsfeed.  Your Facebook can become a safe place where you share, interact and connect with those in your life who you choose to right now.

Here’s how you make your Facebook your safe place again:
1. Log in to your Facebook account and go to your timeline.
2. Click on “Friends” and get ready to Unfollow, Restrict and Unfriend.

Unfollow:  Used when you have a negative reaction to posts in your feed from family and friends you don’t want to “unfriend.”  Keep the person as your “friend” but remove their posts from your newsfeed. *These people will still see YOUR posts if they are following you.*

Restrict:   Adding a “friend” to your restricted list means that he/she will only see posts that you make “Public” or when you tag them in a post. Keep the person as your “friend” but limit what they can see on your timeline. To add someone to your restricted list follow Facebook’s directions:

  1. Go to their Profile
  2. Hover over Friends at the top of their profile
  3. Click Add to another list
  4. Click Restricted
  5. To see who is on your Restricted list:
    1. Scroll down to Friends to the left of News Feed
    2. Hover over Friends, then click More
    3. Click Restricted 

Unfriend:  If your season of friendship is over and you are ready to part ways, make use of the “unfriend” option.

We encourage you all to make the choices that are best for you and your mental health right now.  Take good care of yourselves.

Love and grace,
Leah and Catie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *